Volvo Community Forum. The Forums of the Volvo Owners Club

Forum Rules Volvo Owners Club About VOC Volvo Gallery Links Volvo History Volvo Press
Go Back   Volvo Owners Club Forum > "Technical Topics" > Diesel Engines

Notices

Diesel Engines A forum dedicated to diesel engines fitted to Volvo cars. See the first post in this forum for a list of the diesel engines.

Information
  • VOC Members: There is no login facility using your VOC membership number or the details from page 3 of the club magazine. You need to register in the normal way
  • AOL Customers: Make sure you check the 'Remember me' check box otherwise the AOL system may log you out during the session. This is a known issue with AOL.
  • AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net users. Forum owners such as us are finding that AOL, Yahoo and Plus.net are blocking a lot of email generated from forums. This may mean your registration activation and other emails will not get to you, or they may appear in your spam mailbox

Thread Informations

XC90 D5 - DTC: Injector power stage, Signal to high

Views : 232

Replies : 7

Users Viewing This Thread : 5cilinder, EdwinT

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 11th, 2024, 07:12   #1
EdwinT
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 17:12
Join Date: May 2024
Location: Zeeland
Default XC90 D5 - DTC: Injector power stage, Signal to high

On my XC90 D5 2008 I have DTC ECM-2680 Injector power stage, cyl2. Signal to high.

Car runs fine though.

The injector wire terminal is replaced, but error remains.
Is there a chance that the wires that run from the ECM to the injector are damaged somwhere in the cable loom? Does anyone has experience with replacing the wire from the ECM to the injector?
Before I am swapping or replacing the injector, I want to make sure the problem is not in the wiring.
EdwinT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12th, 2024, 22:51   #2
5cilinder
Premier Member
 
5cilinder's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 16:58
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Groningen
Default

First if you have no issues like misfires its no problem .
Does it start with more cranking with certain temperatures?
The 2 other places which can give this faultcode are the electrical coil in the injector (tap it)
Or the amplifier in the ECM

You can do a resistance measurement on the wires of cyl 2 with the pinout diagram if the resistance is way of its bad but if its not off it still could be damaged because the problems only arise with big amps flowing (20 amps)If the wire its bad its probably in the bend behind cilinder 5

Last edited by 5cilinder; Jun 12th, 2024 at 23:13.
5cilinder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:13   #3
EdwinT
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 17:12
Join Date: May 2024
Location: Zeeland
Default

Thanks for the reply.
I replaced the wire between ECM and injector. It soldered a new wire just after the ECM connector. But faultcode remains.

What do you mean with tapping on the injector?

If it is the amplifier in ECM does it mean ECM needs to be replaced?
EdwinT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:52   #4
5cilinder
Premier Member
 
5cilinder's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 16:58
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Groningen
Default

You mean the whole wire replaced between the ecm and injector?
What i meant just with a hammer a gently tap on the grey housing of the injector (gently!)
If you can repair the amplifier then you dont have to replace the ecm but i doubt that

I asked you some things about the starting behaviour with a cold engine in different temperature enviroments.

And lastly again if you dont have any misfires with a running engine besides starting its going to be allright.
I have the same problem on injector five for years but the engine runs still great
5cilinder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:18   #5
EdwinT
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 17:12
Join Date: May 2024
Location: Zeeland
Default

I installed a new wire outside of the cable loom to check if this would resolve the issue. But I am going to re-connect the original wire as it didn't change anything.

Engine starts fine. Since I have the car, only had temperatures above 10 degrees Celcius so don't know what starting behaviour will be when it is cold.

When the engine is cold, the engine resonates a bit when driving a slower speeds. But not sure if this is caused by misfires on cilinder 2.
EdwinT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:55   #6
5cilinder
Premier Member
 
5cilinder's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 16:58
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Groningen
Default

With "cold"i dont mean colder is more worse ( its the other way around) that lowers electrical resistance. (mine tends to crank a little bit longer in the 10 and 20 celcius range anything higher or lower it starts quicker.)
The wire is one part, the ecm amplifier which adjust and the coil in the injector.
Misfires behave differently then vibrations its more a gentle shake.
This engine is an unballanced shafted 5 cylinder which means more vibrations on lower rpms due to the un ballance and combustion.
In the higher rpms its much smoother due to some unalligning harmonics to counter that there are vacuum operated enginemounts that make the mounts soft under 1500 rpm to dampen the vibration if they are leaking its a lot harsher. just check if that is working ok
5cilinder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:41   #7
EdwinT
New Member
 

Last Online: Today 17:12
Join Date: May 2024
Location: Zeeland
Default

Thanks!

Will try the gentle hammer approach first. If that isn't working, I will have the injector replaced replaced as a next step.

I will ask my garage to check if the vaccuum mounts are leaking or not, I do not have a vacuum tester myself.
EdwinT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 15:18   #8
5cilinder
Premier Member
 
5cilinder's Avatar
 

Last Online: Today 16:58
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Groningen
Default

You dont need your injector replaced for that.(you set yourself up for more problems with mismatching injectorflows and coding) if the leakbacks are within tollerance and the engine runs fine that faultcode can be ignored ,first sort out the 2 hydraulic enginemounts

You also not need a vacuumtester to see if its broke. just disconnect the vacuum from the vacuumpump and see if something changes or not even if it does only one can be broken just disconnect the t piece and suck on it if you cant keep it under pressured and hear some bubbles in the rear or front mount it is broken, and and that also keeps the ihe other mount from keeping vacuum because its ion the same t piece
The mounts are filled with coolant

You do know that if you stand in front of the engine its counted from left to right?

Last edited by 5cilinder; Today at 15:21.
5cilinder is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (2 members and 2 guests)
5cilinder, EdwinT
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:14.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.