Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   XC90 '02–'15 General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Stiff suspension (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=320727)

Timmy1981 Oct 18th, 2021 13:55

Stiff suspension

Hello all
I’m new to the xc90 forum but have been around the s60/v70 ones for a while . I’ve traded my old V70 in for an xc90 R design. Which I thought was a good idea. Sadly the hardness of the suspension is making me think I’ve made a mistake, the car has 19” wheels and I’ve upgraded to bigger tires to help, but I just doesn’t seem to.
I’ve been thinking of going to 18” ? Has anyone done this ? And dose it help ?

Any ideas

Tim

Familyman 90 Oct 18th, 2021 15:06

Ive had the perspective of owning both simultaneously, and onwing them from new so some other bugger hasn't shagged them out before I got my hands on them.

The R Design is a touch lower and stiffer, but the standard set up is a bit of a directional blancmange instead. The R Design helps the steering at the expense of a bit of ride comfort.

But the standard set up is not brilliantly well damped either, nothing to write home about The difference in terms of ride isn't massive and going down to 18's isn't going to alter the spring rate or make the front ARB any slimmer - its not the 19" wheels causing the characterics you dislike.

Moose Test Oct 18th, 2021 17:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Familyman 90 (Post 2778263)
The R Design helps the steering at the expense of a bit of ride comfort.

This has been my experience, going from a D5 SE to a V8 Sport (Sport being the precursor model to R-Design, before that was adopted as a model designation).