Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   140/164 Series General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Gungy and dripping Stromberg (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=227604)

Billy Smalls Apr 13th, 2015 12:21

Gungy and dripping Stromberg

Hi There

I'm a carb absolute beginner; the other day the 144 (single CDS 175E) was fine, then went to start up again later in the day and nothing, would not fire at all. After checking the ignition was fine, made way to the fuel - plenty getting to the carb so not a pump problem.

Took the air filter off and just stared into space!! what's that? what's this? that seems a bit gungy......then happened to move the piston upwards and it turns out it was sticking. car runs fine now....so question are:-

1. is a carb dismantle and clean easier than most think?
2. can I clean it without taking it off or apart?
3. are these exchange services successful and who can you recommend?

The dripping bit of the title, refers to me (without knowing WTF I was doing) unscrewing the brass 4-holed plug from the bottom of the carb and tearing the perished rubber O ring....

One more question for luck - can a drip of petrol on a hot manifold ignite???

cheers now

Derek UK Apr 13th, 2015 13:32

Take the top off and fit a new diaphragm, very cheap. Clean the piston with neat petrol. NO ABRASIVES. Take care not to bend the needle. Fit new O ring. There should be a splash plate under the carb which prevents drips onto the manifold. Neat petrol is surprisingly hard to ignite but not worth the risk.
Don't pull the carb apart if you don't need to as it all has to be aligned properly when it goes back together. Keep the outside clean with an old toothbrush and carb cleaner, oil the pivots etc.

swedishandgerman Apr 13th, 2015 13:35

Hi Billy,