Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   140/164 Series General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   gearbox conversion and power steering for 145 (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=400)

twaintje Aug 2nd, 2004 08:37

gearbox conversion and power steering for 145

Hi out there, as I am new to the Volvo scene, owning a "73 145, I like to know if anyone has already put a M45 box in a 145 (B20A) and what it involves (tilting and modifing of the box) futher more has anyone already put a Powersteering of a 164 in a 140-series.
I am planning to do both!
So hit me with Your advice!

An other Tank on the road!
Tony Vinders

144RHD Nov 11th, 2004 15:26

RE: gearbox conversion and power steering for 145

There is a website of a dutch guy named Bram who I think did the gearbox conversion, he also modifies parts to do the job.

What I am interested in is the power steering project. I've been spinning with the idea myself. I've come up with the following idea: Take the complete power steering kit of a Left Hand Drive car (there are plenty US export cars where you can take the parts from) EXPENSIVE!! and fit this with the powered 164 steering box from a RHD. Is this of any help?

Please let me know how the project is going!

Hans

skidje Nov 12th, 2004 17:17

First of all I would recomment to take the M46 (with overdrive) instead of the mentioned M45.

The early 240's w're equipped with the last B20 engines whilst fitted with M45/46 gearboxes. The best advice you can get is to search for such a bellhause which are not often available. I know of some here in Holland that w're offered during the last couple of years but do not have a clue where to look at this moment. Another option is a private enthousiast here in the area of Eindhoven who welds from 2 bellhauses 1new hausing with flange forward suiting the B20 and backwards suiting the M45 or M46 gearbox.