Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   S60 & V60 '18> / XC60 '17> / S90 & V90 '16> / XC90 '15> General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=201)
-   -   Volvo V90 D4 Valve cover gasket replacement (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=311519)

KarolisG Nov 6th, 2020 18:05

Volvo V90 D4 Valve cover gasket replacement

Hey guys,

So I noticed my car had some horrible burning oil/diesel smell coming from engine bay, I thought it might be egr failing but on closer inspection I noticed it has a leaking valve cover gasket and its spitting oil on exhaust manifold and it smokes, so I decided to give a ring to Volvo dealer to see what price they would ask to fix it.
Volvo being Volvo quote me £788 for it.
My initial reaction was they can suck a bag of *****, I will do it myself.
Im not complete noob and usually fix cars by myself if I have workshop manual handy, but as you probably know Post 2014 Volvo does not offer Workshop manuals to customers and only offer subscription based plan/manuals, as its another way of ripping off customers.
So any advice from you guys would be beneficial.
Thanks
Karl

Whippy Nov 7th, 2020 10:21

Out of curiosity, how old is the car?

KarolisG Nov 7th, 2020 20:31

Hi,
It's 2017 Volvo V90 D4 "d4204t14"

techwatcher Nov 8th, 2020 17:49

IMO a three year old car should not leak oil.

I suggest asking the dealer to ask Volvo for a contribution towards the cost.

Volvo are normally pretty good in these type of situations - it's certainly worth asking.

KarolisG Nov 8th, 2020 21:55

Hi,
I forgot to mention car already has 120k miles on the clock so I'm not sure if Volvo would contribute to anything :D

Clan Nov 8th, 2020 22:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by KarolisG (Post 2679860)
Hi,
I forgot to mention car already has 120k miles on the clock so I'm not sure if Volvo would contribute to anything :D