Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   AWD Discussion (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=191)
-   -   Haldex oil change (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=295686)

Frank B Jun 13th, 2019 14:07

Haldex oil change

I'm new to AWD, my 2016 XC70 D5 geartronic AWD is my first AWD car of any make. but not my first Volvo

I tend to keep my cars a long time and to do this successfully I'm fastidious about running on clean oil / fluids. Is there a recommended time / mileage to service the Haldex ? Any idea what it costs at a good indi ?

mac219 Jun 18th, 2019 05:56

Frank,

Ive just done mine myself on my XC60 D5 (2014). Not sure if yours will have same unit. But I was £44.00 for the oil and took about 1.5hrs to complete. Most of that time was cleaning the parts when off the car. So I'd guess an independent should be less than £150 ?

johncrwales Jul 12th, 2019 10:55

Hi Frank. I have a 2009 XC90 that I plan to keep for a while yet; mileage now 208,000. I was hearing faint bearing noises from the rear. I had used the local dealer up to now. They pronounced that I needed a new Haldex unit; that'll be £3,400+ thank you! No Thank You!
I have finally found an experienced local independent whose philosophy is repair where possible. He had a careful listen with a stethoscope and said that the noise was from the differential. This has proved to be so, and the old differential fell apart when he was getting the gears out, suggesting a hairline crack that might have gone any time. The Haldex unit was fine, and he changed the oil and filter.
Anyway, the point of the post is that he says that Volvo have no schedule for servicing Haldex units. He says this is crazy as the oil gets dirty over time and loses efficiency. He says that the Haldex units should be serviced every 50,000 miles, with a filter and oil change. This makes a lot of sense.
Regards, John

Frank B Jul 15th, 2019 21:42