Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   Towing and Caravan Topics (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   Air suspension when towing - is it worth it? (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=316759)

anotherv60 May 11th, 2021 18:22

Air suspension when towing - is it worth it?

Hi all,

I'm looking at options for our next family (tow) car and would be interested in current owners thoughts on air suspension. I have no experience of air suspension and wonder if anyone finds any benefit to this system for towing?

Apart from the easier (not that its hard) hitching, is there a noticeable difference in towing performance - anyone experienced both coil springs and air suspension on the same model of vehicle?

Secondly anyone tow with any of the more recent plugin hybrid models - any comments on those towing also appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

AnotherV60

Adrian888 May 11th, 2021 20:14

Having had an Audi A6 with air suspension for towing, if i had new car money it would be a ‘must’. My current tow car is a V60 D6 hybrid and it tows a treat. However you will not get much mileage on battery alone and overall towing economy is no better or worse than my previous Diesel Passat and the V6 Tdi Audi before that. The benefits are 4wd function, good solo mpg, use of battery for short journeys, great when arriving/departing site to keep noise llevels down and ease of manoeuvring/reversing with caravan hooked up. No RFL is a bonus but insurance is high compared with a none hybrid as are service costs

Dazbox May 14th, 2021 19:17