Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   S60 & V60 '18> / XC60 '17> / S90 & V90 '16> / XC90 '15> General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=201)
-   -   Extended warrenty (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=317677)

Nicon Jun 18th, 2021 10:46

Extended warrenty

Hi All

I am getting really confused by the Volvo extended warranty.

I have an XC90 that is a a few weeks away from being 3 years old. I was told when I bought it that I would have the option to extend the warranty with Volve and they would get in touch with me. I was also told that I could only extend it if it was still in warranty.

I have not heard anything so I have just called my dealership and they said that they don't do the warranty themselves and gave me the number for Car Care Plan who administer their warranties. I am no expert but this does not sound like an extended manufactures warranty to me.

Anyone else had an extended warranty and was it with volvo?

Thanks

larchdale Jun 18th, 2021 11:40

I went through exactly the same process a couple of weeks ago. I, too, did not receive any reminder from Volvo UK or the dealer.

It transpires that Car Care Plan administrate the warranty for Volvo - it's the one you can buy via the Volvo UK website. I would imagine they also look after other back-office stuff like the service plan and Volvo Care breakdown assistance but I didn't go into it. They told me they mainly look after fleets and manufacturers, rather than retail to the public.

I spoke with a couple of very helpful people at both Volvo and Car Care Plan. The upshot was that it was best for me to buy the 1-year extension online via the Volvo website. I'm told this can be extended annually until the car is 10 years old or has reached 100,000 miles, whichever comes first, which seems pretty standard across warranty providers.

Note: there is no multi-year option, only an annual extension.