Volvo Owners Club Forum

Volvo Owners Club Forum (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/index.php)
-   400 Series General (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Turbo/supercharger (https://www.volvoforums.org.uk/showthread.php?t=15738)

doomvolvo Feb 8th, 2006 22:59

Turbo/supercharger

This isnt the usual "can I fit a turbo to my 1.7" but a new one! Can I fit a turbo to my 2.0???
I'm aware that just before the end of the line for the 400 series car they had developed a 2.0 turbo for the more sportier models! I have heard that a low presure turbo may be possible.
I also thought maybe a supercharger could be used although I have very little knowledge of these although I know it's a popular conversion on minis, hondas and BMW's. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.
cheers

tuning_redblock Feb 8th, 2006 23:13

Your best bet would be to look at a jap motor for a supercharger, see Practicle Performance car, this month they are doing something with superchargers bought abroad.

Sorry for the lack of info but it's not my scene, the 400's that is, but best of luck

Andi K

Steve B Feb 9th, 2006 13:21

Did see a 480 with a T4 engine in out of a S40. Think they had problems at the time with cooling, as there wasn't much space in the engine bay. Think the T5 is a little too big.

You can Supercharge engines, but you have to watch out for your compression ratios, and you also have to upgrade valves, stems, pistons, flywheel and cams I think, (£££££'s). IMO not worth it on the 2.0ltr engine - it's not that good. I'd look into a T4 transplant, with upgraded gearbox, suspension and brakes to match. It's gonna be expensive either way though.

Pedro Fandango Feb 9th, 2006 13:45

since i had a 480 i've always wondered why they turbo'd the 1.7 & not the 2, not sure how much difference there is between exhaust manifolds etc on the 1.7 compared to the 2 but would of loved to of done it

Steve B Feb 9th, 2006 14:12